American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Advocacy, Education, Research

‘AAHKS Leadership’

Notice of Open AAHKS Board Positions

AAHKS is now accepting nominations for five positions on the Board of Directors: 3rd Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and two Members-at-Large. These positions will be filled by election at the AAHKS Business Meeting in November 2016 with the terms of office to commence in March 2017. If you would like to nominate an AAHKS member or yourself (only Fellow members are eligible)… Read More

Dr. O’Connor Accepts Yale Appointment

Dr. O'Connor

Past AAHKS President, Mary I. O’Connor, MD has been named the inaugural director of the Musculoskeletal Center at Yale School of Medicine and Yale-New Haven Hospital in New Haven, Conn. She has left her position as professor of orthopedic surgery at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and as medical director of the adult reconstructive fellowship at Mayo Clinic… Read More

AAHKS Participates in Combined Session with Indian Society

Dr. Parsley Taj Mahal

The Indian Society of Hip & Knee Surgeons (ISHKS) hosted a combined session with AAHKS this week during the ISHKS 9th Annual Congress. Immediate Past President, Brian S. Parsley, MD moderated the session. AAHKS members Harry Rubash, MD, Kenneth A. Gustke, MD, David A. Fisher, MD, Thomas L. Bernasek, MD served on the faculty for the three-day program.… Read More

Dr. Lieberman Takes Office as 25th President of AAHKS

Dr. Lieberman

Jay R. Lieberman, MD took office as the 25th President of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) during the Board of Directors meeting in Las Vegas on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. He assumes leadership of the organization as it prepares to mark its 25th Anniversary at the AAHKS Annual Meeting this November. “I am honored… Read More

Chinese Society Welcomes AAHKS to Beijing

China group photo

AAHKS was well represented at the First Annual Xiangshan International Arthroplasty Summit in Beijing, China last week. Past President, Carlos J. Lavernia, MD, President, Brian S. Parsley, MD, and AAHKS members Scott M. Sporer, MD, Matthew S. Austin, MD, Russell E. Windsor, MD and Henry D. Clarke, MD were among the international faculty presenting, and Michael H. Huo,… Read More

AAHKS Board to Meet at AAOS Annual Meeting

The AAHKS Board of Directors is scheduled to conduct a meeting on Wednesday March 25 at the site of the AAOS Annual Meeting in Las Vegas. In addition to regular Board business, AAHKS President Brian S. Parsley, MD will hand over the reins to First Vice President Jay R. Lieberman, MD who becomes the Association’s 25th President.

AAHKS President on Guatemalan Mission

Dr. Parsley in Guatamala

Brian S. Parsley, MD, AAHKS President spent his birthday in Guatemala during a Faith in Practice mission trip with his team #426. With a full week of surgeries planned in Antigua, the team spent their time organizing equipment in the operating room, screening patients, and performing surgery. The majority of the Guatemalan population lives in extreme poverty and… Read More

JOA Editors Hold Strategic Planning Retreat

Under the leadership of The Journal of Arthroplasty (JOA) Editor-in Chief William J. Hozack, MD, the editorial team participated in a strategic planning retreat at the publisher’s offices in Philadelphia this week. Participants in the retreat included Assistant Editor-in-Chief John J. Callaghan, MD, Associate Editors Viktor E. Krebs, MD, J. “Bo” Mason, MD, Michael A. Mont, MD, Javad… Read More

First VP and Executive Director Attend Symposium

AAHKS First Vice President Jay R. Lieberman, MD and Executive Director Mike Zarski, JD attended the two-day American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) Symposium for Chief Elected and Chief Executive Officers this week. The Symposium gives incoming leaders the chance to explore their priorities for the year, gain insight on making knowledge-based decisions and come to a common… Read More

AAHKS Member Selected as Leadership Fellow

From The Dispatch: “Allen Butler, MD, founder and CEO of Mississippi Bone and Joint Clinic and staff orthopaedic surgeon at OCH Regional Medical Center, has been selected by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) as one of ten national leadership fellows for 2015-2016. The leadership fellows program (LFP) is currently in its 12th year and is designed… Read More