#### **AGENDA**

- I. Approval of the 2022 Business Meeting Minutes
- II. Proposed Changes to AAHKS Bylaws
- III. Leadership Elections



Approval of the 2022 Business Meeting Minutes www.AAHKS.org/Business-Meeting

Please vote on the approval of the 2022 Business Meeting Minutes.



## **Proposed Bylaws Changes**

**SUBJECT:** Change in Associate Member Eligibility

Add the following red text:

SECTION G. ASSOCIATE MEMBERS

- 1. Eligibility for Associate Membership:
- a. An orthopaedic surgeon who does not qualify for Fellow status and has an interest in the advancement of orthopaedic knowledge of the hip and knee joint in health and/or arthritic disorders; or a physician (MD, DO) who has a clinical role in treating patients undergoing hip and/or knee arthroplasty.
- 2. An applicant for Associate Membership:
- a. Shall regularly perform total hip and/or knee arthroplasties or osteotomies about the hip and/or knee each calendar year or, if a physician but not an orthopaedic surgeon, provides clinical care for patients undergoing total hip and/or knee arthroplasty.



## **Proposed Bylaws Changes**

#### **RATIONALE:**

- Subject: Change in Associate Member Eligibility
- This would amend the Associate Member category to include physicians who have a clinical role in treating patients undergoing hip and/or knee arthroplasty but are not orthopaedic surgeons.
- A growing number of other specialists, such as anesthesiologists and internists focus
  their practices on the treatment of hip and knee arthroplasty patients in the
  perioperative period, during preoperative optimization and post operative
  rehabilitation.
- These providers attend the AAHKS Annual Meeting, read the AAHKS journals and seek access to AAHKS member benefits, often with the encouragement of the AAHKS-member surgeons with whom they work.



# Please vote on the proposed amendments to the bylaws.



### **Nominations**

- Board of Directors
  - ➤ 1 Third Vice President
  - <u>1</u> Secretary
  - ➤ <u>2</u> Members-at-Large
- Nominating Committee
  - ➤ <u>3</u> Fellow Members



**Board of Directors** 

Third Vice President (2024–2025)

Matthew P. Abdel, MD



Please vote on the proposed Third Vice President.



**Board of Directors** 

Secretary (2024–2026)

Rafael J. Sierra, MD



Please vote on the proposed Secretary.



**Board of Directors** 

*Member-at-Large* (2024-2026)

Rina Jain, MD, FRCSC

*Member-at-Large* (2024-2026)

Brett R. Levine, MD, MS



Please vote on the proposed slate of Members-at-Large.



**2024 Nominating Committee** 

3 Fellow Members

Leonard T. Buller, MD

Elizabeth B. Gausden, MD, MPH

Jay R. Lieberman, MD

- Not a member of the Board of Directors
- Not a 2023 member of the Nominating Committee



Please vote on the proposed slate of Nominating Committee Members.



## Thanks to the 2023 Nominating Committee!

Bryan D. Springer, MD, Chair Cara A. Cipriano, MD, MSc Michele R. D'Apuzzo, MD Raymond H. Kim, MD David J. Mayman, MD



... and thank you, AAHKS members!

