American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Advocacy, Education, Research

‘Annual Meeting’

“Chick” Yates Receives AAHKS Presidential Award

Chick Yates and Mark Froimson

Adolph “Chick” J. Yates, Jr., MD received the 2017 AAHKS Presidential Award for his outstanding service to AAHKS on Saturday, November 4, 2017 during the 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting. AAHKS President, Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA, cited Dr. Yates’ tireless, behind-the-scenes work for AAHKS in the quality, performance measures and advocacy arenas that earned him the award. He… Read More

AAHKS Resource Center on Orthopedics Today

Video interviews and articles covering the 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting are available on the Orthopedics Today website. One of the highlight videos is of AAHKS President Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA discussing the cutting-edge research presented, new CMS rules, digital health, robotics, assistive technologies, trends in joint replacement, the Industry Leadership Forum, patient education and young members… Read More

2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting Adjourns

A record number of attendees participated in the 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting in Dallas last week. The meeting kicked off with industry symposia covering hot topics in hip and knee arthroplasty. Three special courses reached out to residents, team members and hospital professionals. The General Session got underway with an address by U.S. Senator John Barrasso, MD who… Read More

2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting Presents the Future

With the first paper and first symposium of the General Session focusing on future technology in arthroplasty, the 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting lived up to its reputation of cutting edge research and unrivaled presentations. From mobile patient engagement platforms to 3D printing to robotics to artificial intelligence and machine learning, topics in today’s program alone set a tone… Read More

See You in Dallas!

Mike Bolognesi, MD

The 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting begins next Thursday, November 2 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas with a full schedule of industry-sponsored symposia that run through Friday morning. The general session of the AAHKS program begins at 2:55 p.m. on Friday and adjourns on Sunday at noon. Review the Final Program for all details. Registration Rates Increase Onsite… Read More

This Week’s Featured Symposia

Thursday, November 2, 2017 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Change the Face of the Opioid Landscape One Patient at a Time with Multimodal Treatment Approach DePuy Synthes/Pacira Pharmaceuticals A moderated discussion on the clinical significance of the Postsurgical Infiltration of Long Lasting Analgesia in TKA Results (PILLAR) trial, a phase 4 multicenter randomized controlled study (16 centers, 139 patients). … Read More

This Week’s Featured Symposium: SSI

The following industry symposium takes place on Thursday, November 2, 2017: 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. An Evidence-Based Update on Closed Incision Negative Pressure Therapy for High-Risk Surgical Incision Acelity This session will present an overview of the SSI problem as it relates to complex primary and revision joint arthroplasty and the work being done in the area… Read More

“Ask the Experts” at AAHKS 2017

A panel of leading hip and knee surgeons will conduct the “Ask the Experts” Case Sessions at the 2017 AAHKS Annual Meeting. As one of the most popular events held during the Annual Meeting, these sessions facilitate peer-to-peer discussion centered around cases suggested by attendees. Be sure to bring along your case materials on a thumb drive, and… Read More

This Week’s Featured Symposium: Live Robotic-Arm Assisted Surgery

The following industry symposium takes place on Friday, November 3, 2017: 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Cementless Mako Total Knee with Triathlon Tritanium:  Live Robotic-Arm Assisted Surgery Stryker This symposium will feature a live surgical demonstration of a Mako Total Knee procedure, now with the cementless Triathlon Tritanium Knee System, and interactive dialogue with surgeon faculty. The cementless… Read More

2017 AAHKS Awards Announced

The Annual Meeting Program Committee has announced three outstanding papers that will be presented with the AAHKS Awards at the Annual Meeting: The James A. Rand Young Investigator’s Award Battling the Opioid Epidemic with Prospective Pain Threshold Measurement Brian T. Nickel, MD, Durham, North Carolina Co-Authors: Mitchell R. Klement, MD, William A. Byrd, MD, David E. Attarian, MD,… Read More