American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Advocacy, Education, Research


AAHKS and Japanese Society Hold Combined Symposium

2015 Program

Last week, AAHKS members Andrew Freiberg, MD and William J. Maloney, III, MD lectured at the combined AAHKS and Japanese Society for Replacement Arthroplasty (JSRA) symposium in Fukuoka, Japan. The symposium was held during the JSRA’s 45th Annual Meeting. With more than 2,940 members, the main objective of JSRA is to make progress and development in both clinical… Read More

New Cases Added to DocSpera

After the first weeks of the new program where leaders in hip and knee arthroplasty are “on call” to respond to case sharing posts on the AAHKS DocSpera website portal, AAHKS members have posted many new cases. Topics include giant cell tumor, multiple revision TKA, highly cross linked osteolysis, fungal infection and more. Visit to log in… Read More

Membership Renewals Continue

More than half of AAHKS members have paid dues for 2015, and the Membership Department would like to thank all of the members who have renewed their membership to date. We will be sending reminder letters this week to those who have not renewed their membership yet. To pay dues online, log in at If you prefer… Read More

AAHKS Member Selected as Leadership Fellow

From The Dispatch: “Allen Butler, MD, founder and CEO of Mississippi Bone and Joint Clinic and staff orthopaedic surgeon at OCH Regional Medical Center, has been selected by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) as one of ten national leadership fellows for 2015-2016. The leadership fellows program (LFP) is currently in its 12th year and is designed… Read More

AAHKS Welcomes New Members from India

AAHKS welcomes five new International Members from India: Sanjiv K S Marya, MD, Javahir A. Pachore, MD, Suryamarayan Pichai, MD, Ashok Rajgopal, MD, FRCS (Ortho), and Vikram Indrajit Shah, MD.  Dr. Pachore, Founding President and Managing Trustee of the Indian Society of Hip & Knee Surgeons (ISHKS), recently attended the AAHKS 2014 Annual Meeting at the invitation of… Read More

Members Renew Dues, Use Websticker

AAHKS Member

AAHKS members can pay dues online by logging in at or by calling (847) 698-1200. More than one-third of our members have renewed their memberships as of this date. AAHKS members are also using a new “websticker” of the AAHKS logo on their websites, Facebook, email signatures, etc. If you would like to download the image, follow… Read More

Membership Dues Invoices Emailed

Dues invoices for the 2015 membership year have been sent via email to members and their staff. Members can log in to or call (847) 698-1200 to pay dues with a credit card. To pay by check, send payment to AAHKS at 9300 Higgins Rd., Suite 230, Rosemont, IL 60018-4976. Contact with any questions. Benefits of Membership Annual… Read More

Look for Emailed Dues Invoices Next Week

The AAHKS Membership department will be emailing membership renewal notices by December 12, 2014. Members have 30 days to renew by logging in to or calling (847) 698-1200 to pay dues with a credit card. If you prefer to mail a check, send payment to AAHKS at 9300 Higgins Rd., Suite 230, Rosemont, IL 60018-4976. Contact with any… Read More

Featured Committee Report: Membership

AAHKS began 2014 with 2,076 members. We added 204 new members (net growth 183) in 2013. Year to date (as of 11/6/14), the Board has approved 273 new members. We have had 6 resignations, 5 dropped for non‐payment of dues, 4 deceased members (net growth YTD 258). We currently have over 70 domestic open applications. A goal of… Read More

Trinity Health Names Mark I. Froimson, MD to New Position

Mark I. Froimson, MD, Chair of the AAHKS Health Policy Committee, has been appointed to executive vice president, Chief Clinical Officer at Trinity Health in Livonia, Michigan. As CCO, Froimson will lead Trinity Health’s Unified Clinical Organization and all of the associated acute and continuing care clinical activities and initiatives related to patient safety, quality care improvement, patient… Read More