Established in 1991, the mission of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) is to advance hip and knee patient care through education, advocacy, research and outreach. We are committed to access for all to the highest quality hip and knee care, as well as to our core values of inclusivity, volunteerism, life-long learning, integrity, proactivity, professionalism and humanitarianism. AAHKS has a membership of over 5,000 surgeons and other hip and knee health care professionals.

Board of Directors

James I. Huddleston, III, MD

First Vice President
R. Michael Meneghini, MD

Second Vice President
Antonia F. Chen, MD, MBA

Third Vice President
Matthew P. Abdel, MD

Immediate Past President
Javad Parvizi, MD, FRCS

Rafael J. Sierra, MD

James A. Browne, MD

Jaime L. Bellamy, DO
Rina Jain, MD, FRCSC
Brett R. Levine, MD, MS

Executive Director
Michael J. Zarski, JD

Councils and Committees

Committee members typically serve two-year terms from March to March. A call for Committee applications goes out at the end of each year, and members can apply online.

Council Chairs and Vice Chairs

Education and Communications Council:  Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc and James A. Browne, MD
Health Policy Council:  Adam J. Rana, MD
Membership Council: James D. Slover, MD, MS

Committee Chairs  (Staff Liaison)

Advocacy: Adam J. Rana, MD  (Joshua Kerr)
Committee on Committees:  R. Michael Meneghini, MD (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Digital Health and Social Media:  Shaun P. Patel, MD  (Kenneth Robinson)
Diversity Advisory Board:  Muyibat A. Adelani, MD  (Chiara Rodgers)
Education:  Jeffrey B. Stambough, MD  (Sigita Wolfe)
Evidence-Based Medicine:  Yale A. Fillingham, MD  (Sigita Wolfe)
Fellowship:  William G. Hamilton, MD  (Amy Bolivar)
FinanceJames A. Browne, MD  (Sharon Creed)
FOCAL:  Vivek M. Shah, MD  (Amy Bolivar)
Humanitarian:  Julius K. Oni, MD  (Chiara Rodgers)
Industry RelationsCory L. Calendine, MD  (Jeff Mitchell)
InternationalVictor H. Hernandez, MD, MS  (Joshua Kerr)
Member OutreachPeter K. Sculco, MD  (Eileen Lusk)
NominatingJavad Parvizi, MD, FRCS  (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Patient and Public Relations:  Benjamin M. Stronach, MD, MS  (Kenneth Robinson)
Practice Management:  Alexander P. Sah, MD  (Joshua Kerr)
ProgramJonathan M. Vigdorchik, MD  (Sigita Wolfe)
PublicationsChristopher E. Pelt, MD  (Kenneth Robinson)
Quality Measures:  Robert S. Sterling, MD  (Sigita Wolfe)
Research:  Ran Schwarzkopf, MD, MSc  (Chiara Rodgers)
Women in Arthroplasty:  Linda I. Suleiman, MD  (Eileen Lusk)
Young Arthroplasty GroupJenna A. Bernstein, MD  (Joshua Kerr)


AAHKS Staff members serve as the administrative core of the association located in the Orthopaedic Headquarters in Rosemont, Illinois, USA. View list.


2022-2024 News releases, weekly news blog, online press kit, media request instructions and the advertising rate card are in the AAHKS Newsroom.

Strategic Plan

The Strategic Plan is updated every three years by the Board of Directors to guide the association and the profession.


The AAHKS Bylaws detail the association’s purpose, membership descriptions, board structure and duties, committee and meeting structure and rules. Download the Bylaws.

Close Bitnami banner