NOLC attendees

AAHKS representatives met with Senator Charles “Chuck” Ellis Schumer (D-NY) and others at NOLC. Pictured l. to r. Jeffrey A. Geller, MD, Adam A. Sassoon, MD, Alexander S. McLawhorn, MD, MBA and Adolph J. Yates, MD

AAHKS First Vice President Mark I. Froimson, MD and Committee Chairs Adolph J. Yates, MD, Evidence Based Medicine and Jeffrey A. Geller, MD, Web and Social Media joined our three 2015-2016 Health Policy Fellows, P. Maxwell Courtney, MD, Alexander S. McLawhorn, MD, MBA and Adam A. Sassoon, MD to advocate for AAHKS during the AAOS National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference (NOLC) in Washington, DC.

The AAHKS representatives met with Congressional staffers to discuss the inclusion of risk stratification within the CJR model, allowing qualified physicians to act as CJR episode initiators and conveners, asking CMS to continue evolving the CJR model as new data becomes available, and pressing CMS to act immediately to fix the ICD-10 codes or MSDRG logic model to prevent some revision TKAs from being grouped as primary encounters rather than waiting until 2017.

Close Bitnami banner