On the day after Health and Human Services Secretary Tom Price announced that he wants physicians to “step up and recommend more payment alternatives to fee-for-service Medicare,” AAHKS submitted a letter of intent, which had already been in the works, to ensure AAHKS took the lead in innovating a payment model for TJR.

The AAHKS Advanced Alternative Payment Model Task Force co-chaired by Richard Iorio, MD and Adolph J. Yates, MD appointed by AAHKS Past President William A. Jiranek, MD, FACS submitted the letter of intent to the CMS Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC) this week. The letter outlines their goals and ideas for implementation for a Physican-Focused Payment Model that would “reduce health care spending for TJR without compromising clinical quality or patient outcomes.” The task force intends to submit the full proposal in late spring of this year with the plan to implement by spring of next year. Read the letter.

Close Bitnami banner