Congratulations to the excellent surgeons who were recognized during the AAHKS General Session this year for accomplishments in diversity & inclusion efforts, research, clinical excellence and humanitarian work: 

  • Dr. Parvizi presented the 2023 Presidential Award to Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc  
  • Three studies received FARE (Foundation for Arthroplasty Research & Education) Grants: 
  • Sumon Nandi, MD, MBA, for “Is Formal Postoperative Physical Therapy Clearance Necessary for Safe Home Discharge After TJA?” (University of Maryland) 
  • David Novikov, MD, for “The Role of Peri-operative Adjunctive Probiotics in the Prevention of Recurrent PJI of the Hip and Knee” (Boston University) 
  • Diversity Grant Winner: Linda I. Suleiman, MD- Supporting Equitable Diagnosis and Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis: Co-Designing Digital Capture of Patient-Reported Outcomes (Northwestern University) 
  • The Diversity Advisory Board (DAB) Diversity Award was presented to Mary O’Connor, MD 
  • The Women in Arthroplasty (WIA) Empowerment Award went to Antonia F. Chen, MD, MBA   
  • The James A. Rand Young Investigator’s Award was presented to Vinay K. Aggarwal, MD for “Keeping It Simple: Are All MSIS Tests Useful to Diagnose PJI?”    
  • The Surgical Techniques & Technologies Award was presented to Christopher M. Melnic, MD, for “Inferior Screw Fixation in Revision Acetabular Reconstruction Decreases Acetabular Component Failure”  
  • The Clinical Research Award was presented to Marcus C. Ford, MD for “Postoperative Oral Tranexamic Acid in TKA: A Randomized Controlled Trial”  
  • The Industry Innovation Awards, now in their second year, went to OrthAlign and Force Therapeutics.  
Close Bitnami banner